Faculty by Research Area

Biodiversity

Back to Faculty by Research Area

Maybe Berenbaum,  May

maybe@illinois.edu
216A Morrill Hall / 318B Morrill Hall
217-333-2910 / 217-333-7784

Professor & Head, Swanlund Chair
Entomology, PEEC

Chemical interactions between insects and host plants and their implications in the organization of natural communities
Jbrawn Brawn,  Jeffrey

jbrawn@illinois.edu
W-503 Turner Hall
217-244-5937

Professor and Head, NRES
Animal Biology, PEEC

Conservation biology; comparative population and community ecology of vertebrates, especially birds; tropical ecology; statistical ecology; molecular evolutionary ecology
Photo Cameron,  Sydney

sacamero@illinois.edu
215B Morrill Hall
217-333-2340

Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Application of phylogenetics, behavior and development to address questions concerning the evolution of social behavior in bees; conservation status and causal factors in declining pollinators; evolution of color pattern mimicry in bees
Cao Cao,  Yong

yongcao@illinois.edu
Illinois Natural History Survey
217-244-6847

Affiliate
INHS, NRES, PEEC

Community ecology, freshwater bioassessment, multivariate analysis, and species modeling
C cheng Cheng,  C.-H. Christina

c-cheng@illinois.edu
17E Burrill Hall
217-333-2832

Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Evolutionary genomic, transcriptomic, and physiological changes in cold adaptation and specialization in Antarctic and Arctic fishes. Molecular evolution of antifreeze proteins and other cold-adaptive genes and functions. Marine biodiversity in Polar regions. Field research in Antarctica and the Arctic
Photo Dalling,  James

dalling@illinois.edu
265 Morrill Hall
217-244-8914

Professor and Head
Plant Biology, PEEC

Tropical forest regeneration, seed and seedling ecology, pioneer species
Dietrich Dietrich,  Christopher

chdietri@illinois.edu
282 Natural Resources Building
217-244-7408

Affiliate, Associate Center Director, Systematic Entomologist
Entomology, PEEC, INHS

Systematics, morphology, and evolutionary biology of leafhoppers and treehoppers; biodiversity and conservation of grassland ecosystems
Downie Downie,  Stephen

sdownie@illinois.edu
239 Morrill Hall
217-333-1275

Professor, SIB Associate Director of Academic Affairs
Plant Biology, PEEC

Molecular systematics and phylogeny of extant angiosperms, with emphasis on Apiaceae (Umbelliferae), chloroplast genome structural evolution
No photo Epifanio,  John

epifanio@illinois.edu
217-244-5059

Affiliate
INHS, NRES, PEEC

Conservation biology, molecular ecology, and fish biology
Aht Harmon-Threatt,  Alex

aht@illinois.edu
255 Morrill Hall
217-333-3108

Assistant Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Pollination Ecology, Conservation and Restoration
Fhu Hu,  Feng Sheng

fshu@illinois.edu
265 Morrill Hall
217-244-2982

Professor and Dean of LAS, and a Ralph E. Grim Professor of Geology
Plant Biology, School of Integrative Biology, PEEC

Ecosystem ecology, quaternary paleoecology, climatic change and biotic response, soil and sediment biogeochemistry
Kpjohnso Johnson,  Kevin

kpjohnso@illinois.edu
284 Natural Resources Building, 607 E. Peabody Dr., Champaign, IL 61820
217-244-9267

Affiliate, Principal Ornithologist
Animal Biology, Entomology, INHS, PEEC

Molecular systematics, host-parasite co-evolution, comparative approaches to studying the evolution of behavior in birds, co-speciation between birds and parasitic lice, population genetics of island biogeography
Kent Kent,  Angela

akent@illinois.edu
S-510 Turner Hall
217-333-4216

Director of PEEC, Associate Professor
NRES, PEEC

Ecology of microbial communities involved in ecosystem processes in terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems, microbial ecology and human and animal health
Amiller7 Miller,  Andrew

amiller7@illinois.edu
2003 Robert Evers Lab

Affiliate
Plant Biology, PEEC

Character evolution of ascomycetes with emphasis on members of the Class Sordariomycetes, biodiversity and biogeography of ascomycetes
Miller james Miller,  James

jrmillr@illinois.edu
N-407 Turner Hall
217-244-3896

Associate Professor
NRES, PEEC

Avian ecology, landscape ecology, biodiversity conservation, habitat restoration, reconciliation ecology
Jodwyer O'Dwyer,  James

jodwyer@illinois.edu
183 Morrill Hall
217-244-7806

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

We work with theoretical models and a broad range of data to understand patterns of biodiversity, from tropical forests to host-associated microbial systems like the human microbiome
Photo Paige,  Ken

k-paige@illinois.edu
483 Morrill Hall
217-333-7802

Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Plant-animal interactions with an emphasis on understanding the phenomenon of overcompensation from ecological, physiological, genetic and evolutionary perspectives; conservation biology; evolutionary ecology
Caphilli Phillips,  Christopher

caphilli@illinois.edu
185 NRB
217-244-7077

Adjunct Assistant Professor/Affiliate
Animal Biology, PEEC

Population genetics, population ecology, and systematics, especially as applied to amphibians, reptiles, and fishes; phylogeny estimation using molecular markers; conservation genetics
Photo Punyasena,  Surangi

spunya1@illinois.edu
139 Morrill Hall
217-244-8049

Associate Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

Role of climate in long-term evolution of Neotropical forests; quantitative palynology
Roca Roca,  Alfred

roca@illinois.edu
441 Animal Sciences Laboratory
217-244-8853

Associate Professor
PEEC

Comparative and evolutionary genomics of mammals and retroviruses, conservation genetics of elephants and other wildlife
Schooley Schooley,  Robert

schooley@illinois.edu
W-401B Turner Hall
217-244-2729

Associate Professor
NRES, PEEC

Landscape ecology, metapopulations, wildlife conservation, animal movements
Rstumpf Stumpf,  Rebecca

rstumpf@illinois.edu
Department of Anthropology
217-333-8072

Professor
PEEC

Sexual selection, hominid behavior, endocrinology, primate microbial ecology, primate evolution, reproductive mechanisms, preterm birth
Sjtaylor Taylor,  Steven

sjtaylor@illinois.edu
229 Natural Resources Studies Annex
217-244-1122

Affiliate, Senior Conservation Biologist
INHS, PEEC, Entomology

Cave and karst biology, conservation, and management
Rwhitakr Whitaker,  Rachel

rwhitakr@illinois.edu
C222 Chemical and Life Sciences Laboratory
217-244-8420

Associate Professor
Molecular and Cellular Biology, PEEC

Microbial evolutionary ecology; population genomics; biogeography; horizontal gene transfer; effects of disturbance on microbial populations; Archaea
Jwhitfie Whitfield,  James

jwhitfie@illinois.edu
215 Morrill Hall
217-333-2567

Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Ecology and phylogeny of parasitoid wasps
Yannarell Yannarell,  Anthony

acyann@illinois.edu
S-522 Turner Hall
217-333-2398

Associate Professor
NRES, PEEC

Microbial community ecology, microbial interactions with invasive species, soil microbiology (grasslands, forests, agroecosystems)