Faculty by Research Area

Evolutionary Genetics

Back to Faculty by Research Area

Photo Berlocher,  Stewart

stewartb@illinois.edu
304A Morrill Hall
217-333-2929

Professor
Entomology, PEEC

C cheng Cheng,  C.-H. Christina

c-cheng@illinois.edu
17E Burrill Hall
217-333-2832

Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

No photo Epifanio,  John

epifanio@illinois.edu
217-244-5059

Affiliate
INHS, NRES, PEEC

Fuller Fuller,  Becky

rcfuller@illinois.edu
104 Shelford Vivarium
217-333-9065

Associate Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Kheath Heath,  Katy

kheath@illinois.edu
249 Morrill Hall
217-265-5473

Associate Professor
School of Integrative Biology, Plant Biology, PEEC

My research focuses on the evolution of mutualisms, which are most generally defined as species interactions that increase the fitness of both (or all) partners. Mutualisms are ubiquitous! And they include some of the most important species interactions in nature (for example: mitochondria, mycorrhizae, gut endosymbionts). Though, at first impression, these friendly interactions might appear tightly coevolved, instead they may be characterized by temporal and spatial heterogeneity, cheating, even evolutionary instability. I try to take a multidisciplinary approach and use diverse methods that traditionally are associated with the fields of quantitative genetics (multivariate statistics, greenhouse experiments), population and molecular genetics (genotyping, sequence analysis, expression assays), and ecology (field manipulations, collections) to understand multiple aspects of the evolution of mutualisms. Some questions currently motivating my work include: 1. Under what conditions (including the abiotic and biotic environment) do mutualisms evolve, remain stable, or break down?&nbsp; 2. How phenotypically and genetically variable are mutualistic interactions, and why is such variation maintained, despite selective pressure to cheat or, alternatively, to remain honest? 3. Which genes are variable in nature, and which are, or have been, important players in coevolution? Most generally, I am interested in plants, microbes, and their sundry interactions. Most of my research focuses on the interactions between legumes and their symbiotic nitrogen-fixing bacteria, called rhizobia. This includes the <em>Medicago-Sinorhizobium</em> mutualism because it is a great genetic model with an interesting ecology. I also have interests/projects in: the agronomically-important soybean-<em>Bradyrhizobium</em> interaction, invasive/naturalized clover-rhizobium interactions, invasive/naturalized <em>Medicago lupulina</em>-<em>Sinorhizobium </em>interactions, and the native prairie legume <em>Chamaecrista fasciculata</em> and associated rhizobia.
Avk Kukekova,  Anna

avk@illinois.edu
206 Edward R. Madigan Lab
217-300-2425

Assistant Professor, Animal Sciences Laboratory
PEEC

Malhi Malhi,  Ripan

malhi@illinois.edu
209F Davenport Hall
217-265-0721

Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Photo Paige,  Ken

k-paige@illinois.edu
483 Morrill Hall
217-333-7802

Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Philipp Philipp,  David

philipp@illinois.edu
237 NRSA
217-369-2952

Research Affiliate
Animal Biology, PEEC

Jrhodes Rhodes,  Justin

jrhodes@illinois.edu
3315 Beckman Institute
217-265-0021

Associate Professor
PEEC

Hughrobe Robertson,  Hugh

hughrobe@illinois.edu
417 Morrill Hall
217-333-0489

Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Roca Roca,  Alfred

roca@illinois.edu
441 Animal Sciences Laboratory
217-244-8853

Associate Professor
PEEC

No photo Roseman,  Charles

croseman@illinois.edu
203 Shelford Vivarium
217-244-3513

Associate Professor
PEEC, Animal Biology

Rstumpf Stumpf,  Rebecca

rstumpf@illinois.edu
Department of Anthropology
217-333-8072

Professor
PEEC

Suarez2 Suarez,  Andrew

suarez2@illinois.edu
515 Morrill Hall
217-244-6631

I. C. Gunsalus Scholar, Professor and Head of Animal Biology
Animal Biology, Entomology, PEEC

Rwhitakr Whitaker,  Rachel

rwhitakr@illinois.edu
C222 Chemical and Life Sciences Laboratory
217-244-8420

Associate Professor
Molecular and Cellular Biology, PEEC

Jwhitfie Whitfield,  James

jwhitfie@illinois.edu
215 Morrill Hall
217-333-2567

Professor
Entomology, PEEC