Faculty by Research Area

Conservation Genetics

Back to Faculty by Research Area

Jbrawn Brawn,  Jeffrey

jbrawn@illinois.edu
W-503 Turner Hall
217-244-5937

Professor and Head, NRES
Animal Biology, PEEC

Conservation biology; comparative population and community ecology of vertebrates, especially birds; tropical ecology; statistical ecology; molecular evolutionary ecology
Photo Cameron,  Sydney

sacamero@illinois.edu
215B Morrill Hall
217-333-2340

Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Application of phylogenetics, behavior and development to address questions concerning the evolution of social behavior in bees; conservation status and causal factors in declining pollinators; evolution of color pattern mimicry in bees
No photo Epifanio,  John

epifanio@illinois.edu
217-244-5059

Affiliate
INHS, NRES, PEEC

Conservation biology, molecular ecology, and fish biology
Malhi Malhi,  Ripan

malhi@illinois.edu
209F Davenport Hall
217-265-0721

Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Integrates population genetics, phylogenetics, ancient DNA analysis, and field research in collaboration with Native American communities; use of tools from molecular biology and population genetics; North America
Ken Paige,  Ken

k-paige@illinois.edu
483 Morrill Hall
217-244-6606

Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Our lab focuses on several areas of research including 1) the ecology and evolutionary biology of species interactions with an emphasis on overcompensation (enhanced fitness following herbivory), 2) the role of somatic mutation and endoreduplication (replication of the genome without mitotic cell division) in allowing an individual plant to evolve and adjust to environmental challenges, 3) conservation genetics, focusing on the ecological and evolutionary consequences of small population size, and 4) phylogeographic analyses with a focus on understanding how organisms have responded to anthropogenic, geologic and climatic history.
Philipp Philipp,  David

philipp@illinois.edu
237 NRSA
217-369-2952

Research Affiliate
PEEC

Fish genetics and evolution; identification, characterization and conservation of fish stocks; evolution of structural and regulatory genes; behavioral genetics of fishes
Caphilli Phillips,  Christopher

caphilli@illinois.edu
185 NRB
217-244-7077

Adjunct Assistant Professor/Affiliate
Animal Biology, PEEC

Population genetics, population ecology, and systematics, especially as applied to amphibians, reptiles, and fishes; phylogeny estimation using molecular markers; conservation genetics
Roca Roca,  Alfred

roca@illinois.edu
441 Animal Sciences Laboratory
217-244-8853

Associate Professor
PEEC

Comparative and evolutionary genomics of mammals and retroviruses, conservation genetics of elephants and other wildlife
Rstumpf Stumpf,  Rebecca

rstumpf@illinois.edu
Department of Anthropology
217-333-8072

Professor
PEEC

Sexual selection, hominid behavior, endocrinology, primate microbial ecology, primate evolution, reproductive mechanisms, preterm birth