Faculty by Research Area

Invasive Species

Back to Faculty by Research Area

Photo Allan,  Brian

ballan@illinois.edu
339A Morrill Hall
217-244-1341

Associate Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Maybe Berenbaum,  May

maybe@illinois.edu
216A Morrill Hall / 318B Morrill Hall
217-333-2910 / 217-333-7784

Professor & Head, Swanlund Chair
Entomology, PEEC

Chick Chick,  John

chick@illinois.edu
618-468-2850

Principal Aquatic Ecologist
INHS, NRES, PEEC

No photo Epifanio,  John

epifanio@illinois.edu
217-244-5059

Affiliate
INHS, NRES, PEEC

Fraterrigo Fraterrigo,  Jennifer

jmf@illinois.edu
W-423 Turner Hall
217-333-9428

Associate Professor
NRES, PEEC

No photo Hanks,  Lawrence

hanks@illinois.edu

Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Matthews Matthews,  Jeffrey

jmatthew@illinois.edu
S-516 Turner Hall
217-244-2168

Assistant Professor
NRES, PEEC

Photo Paige,  Ken

k-paige@illinois.edu
483 Morrill Hall
217-333-7802

Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Suarez2 Suarez,  Andrew

suarez2@illinois.edu
515 Morrill Hall
217-244-6631

I. C. Gunsalus Scholar, Professor and Head of Animal Biology
Animal Biology, Entomology, PEEC

Suski Suski,  Cory

suski@illinois.edu
W-401C Turner Hall
217-244-2237

Associate Professor
NRES, PEEC

Wahl Wahl,  David

d-wahl@illinois.edu
235 NRSA
217-333-0006

Illinois Natural History Survey; Natural Resources and Environmental Sciences; Affiliate Entomology, PEEC
INHS, PEEC

Yeng 274 Yang,  Wendy

yangw@illinois.edu
639 Morrill Hall
217-244-2614

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

I am broadly interested in how human activities are changing how natural and managed ecosystems function and how ecosystem responses to global change can feedback to drive or slow future global change. My research is in terrestrial biogeochemistry and ecosystem ecology with a focus on determining process rates and drivers of chemical transformations in the environment. I am particularly interested in the controls on greenhouse gas emissions, the effects of anthropogenic nitrogen inputs on soil nitrogen retention and loss, the effects of plant community composition shifts on soil nitrogen and carbon dynamics, and the coupling of biogeochemical cycles beyond carbon and nitrogen. An important component of my research is the development of novel methodological approaches using tracer and natural abundance stable isotope techniques, in particular to quantify soil dinitrogen emissions and gross fluxes of greenhouse gases. My research program currently includes projects within two major themes: Controls on Redox-Sensitive Biogeochemical Processes, and Plant Community Composition Effects on Biogeochemical Processes. Specific projects include: <ul> <li>Effects of Rainfall Intensification on Soil Greenhouse Gas Emissions in the Midwest</li> <li>Controls on Dissimilatory Nitrate Reduction to Ammonium in Upland Soils</li> <li>Iron-mediated Biogeochemistry in Terrestrial Ecosystems</li> <li><a href="http://www.agroforestry4food.com/">Woody Polycultures as a Transformative Solution to Sustainable Agriculture</a></li> <li>Mycorrhizal Mediation of Forest Nutrient and Carbon Cycling</li> <li>Invasive Species Effects on Ecosystem Nitrogen Dynamics</li> <li>Plant-Soil-Microbe Interactions in Bioenergy Cropping Systems as part of the <a href="https://cabbi.bio/">Center for Advanced Bioenergy and Bioproducts Innovation</a> (CABBI)</li> </ul>
Yannarell Yannarell,  Anthony

acyann@illinois.edu
S-522 Turner Hall
217-333-2398

Associate Professor
NRES, PEEC