Faculty by Research Area

Microbial Ecology

Back to Faculty by Research Area

Photo Dalling,  James

dalling@illinois.edu
265 Morrill Hall
217-244-8914

Professor and Head
Plant Biology, PEEC

Tropical forest regeneration, seed and seedling ecology, pioneer species
Jdawson2 Dawson,  Jeffrey

jdawson2@illinois.edu
1316 PSL
217-333-9281

Professor Emeritus
Plant Biology, PEEC

Symbiotic nitrogen fixation by woody plants, forest ecophysiology, soil microbiology, plant nitrogen nutrition, silviculture, forest ecology, urban forestry
Pdegnan Degnan,  Patrick

pdegnan@illinois.edu
371 Morrill Hall
217-244-5504

Assistant Professor
Molecular and Cellular Biology, PEEC

Genome-enabled examination of diversity, genome evolution and processes in complex microbial communities
Akh Hansen,  Allison

akh@illinois.edu
355 Morrill Hall
217-244-3499

Assistant Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Genomics of insect-microbe interactions; integrated animal-microbe metabolisms; evolutionary genomics; microbiomes
Kheath Heath,  Katy

kheath@illinois.edu
249 Morrill Hall
217-265-5473

Associate Professor
School of Integrative Biology, Plant Biology, PEEC

Mutualism coevolution: evolutionary and ecological genetics of plant-microbe interactions; evolutionary responses to global change
Kent Kent,  Angela

akent@illinois.edu
S-510 Turner Hall
217-333-4216

Director of PEEC, Associate Professor
NRES, PEEC

Ecology of microbial communities involved in ecosystem processes in terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems, microbial ecology and human and animal health
Rstumpf Stumpf,  Rebecca

rstumpf@illinois.edu
Department of Anthropology
217-333-8072

Professor
PEEC

Sexual selection, hominid behavior, endocrinology, primate microbial ecology, primate evolution, reproductive mechanisms, preterm birth
Yannarell Yannarell,  Anthony

acyann@illinois.edu
S-522 Turner Hall
217-333-2398

Associate Professor
NRES, PEEC

Microbial community ecology, microbial interactions with invasive species, soil microbiology (grasslands, forests, agroecosystems)