Faculty by Research Area

Community Ecology

Back to Faculty by Research Area

Photo Allan,  Brian

ballan@illinois.edu
339A Morrill Hall
217-244-1341

Associate Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Ecology of infectious diseases
Carolaug Augspurger,  Carol

carolaug@illinois.edu
155 Morrill Hall
217-333-1298

Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

Phenology of trees and herbs, wind dispersal, seed and seedling ecology of tropical trees, plant-pathogen interactions
Maybe Berenbaum,  May

maybe@illinois.edu
216A Morrill Hall / 318B Morrill Hall
217-333-2910 / 217-333-7784

Professor & Head, Swanlund Chair
Entomology, PEEC

Chemical interactions between insects and host plants and their implications in the organization of natural communities
Jbrawn Brawn,  Jeffrey

jbrawn@illinois.edu
W-503 Turner Hall
217-244-5937

Professor and Head, NRES
Animal Biology, PEEC

Conservation biology; comparative population and community ecology of vertebrates, especially birds; tropical ecology; statistical ecology; molecular evolutionary ecology
Cao Cao,  Yong

yongcao@illinois.edu
Illinois Natural History Survey
217-244-6847

Affiliate
INHS, NRES, PEEC

Community ecology, freshwater bioassessment, multivariate analysis, and species modeling
Chick Chick,  John

chick@illinois.edu
618-468-2850

Principal Aquatic Ecologist
INHS, NRES, PEEC

Ecology of large rivers, particularly Mississippi and Illinois rivers; population dynamics & community interactions freshwater fishes, life history stages & general aquatic ecology
Photo Dalling,  James

dalling@illinois.edu
265 Morrill Hall
217-244-8914

Professor and Head
Plant Biology, PEEC

Tropical forest regeneration, seed and seedling ecology, pioneer species
P garber Garber,  Paul

p-garber@illinois.edu
Dept. of Anthropology, Davenport Hall
217-333-3616

Professor Emeritus
PEEC

Cognitive aspects of foraging, behavioral ecology, and mating systems of New World primates
Aht Harmon-Threatt,  Alex

aht@illinois.edu
255 Morrill Hall
217-333-3108

Assistant Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Pollination Ecology, Conservation and Restoration
Sperry Hutchins Sperry,  Jinelle

jinelle.sperry@usace.army.mil
S-506 Turner Hall
217-373-4543

Adjunct Assistant Professor/Affiliate
NRES, PEEC

Community ecology; behavior and ecology of birds, reptiles and amphibians; wildlife conservation
Kent Kent,  Angela

akent@illinois.edu
S-510 Turner Hall
217-333-4216

Director of PEEC, Associate Professor
NRES, PEEC

Ecology of microbial communities involved in ecosystem processes in terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems, microbial ecology and human and animal health
Photo Leakey,  Andrew

leakey@illinois.edu
1402 IGB
217-244-0302

Associate Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

Genomic ecology of plant ecological strategies, genomic responses to climate change, response of maize to elevated carbon dioxide and drought
Matthews Matthews,  Jeffrey

jmatthew@illinois.edu
S-516 Turner Hall
217-244-2168

Assistant Professor
NRES, PEEC

Restoration ecology, plant community ecology, wetland mitigation
Miller james Miller,  James

jrmillr@illinois.edu
N-407 Turner Hall
217-244-3896

Associate Professor
NRES, PEEC

Avian ecology, landscape ecology, biodiversity conservation, habitat restoration, reconciliation ecology
Caphilli Phillips,  Christopher

caphilli@illinois.edu
185 NRB
217-244-7077

Adjunct Assistant Professor/Affiliate
Animal Biology, PEEC

Population genetics, population ecology, and systematics, especially as applied to amphibians, reptiles, and fishes; phylogeny estimation using molecular markers; conservation genetics
Suarez2 Suarez,  Andrew

suarez2@illinois.edu
515 Morrill Hall
217-244-6631

I. C. Gunsalus Scholar, Professor and Head of Animal Biology
Animal Biology, Entomology, PEEC

Ant ecology and behavior; biological invasions
Wahl Wahl,  David

d-wahl@illinois.edu
235 NRSA
217-333-0006

Illinois Natural History Survey; Natural Resources and Environmental Sciences; Affiliate Entomology, PEEC
INHS, PEEC

Application of ecological principles to fisheries management; role of predators in controlling community dynamics; behavioral ecology of fishes; bioenergetic and bioeconomic modeling
Jwhitfie Whitfield,  James

jwhitfie@illinois.edu
215 Morrill Hall
217-333-2567

Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Ecology and phylogeny of parasitoid wasps
Yannarell Yannarell,  Anthony

acyann@illinois.edu
S-522 Turner Hall
217-333-2398

Associate Professor
NRES, PEEC

Microbial community ecology, microbial interactions with invasive species, soil microbiology (grasslands, forests, agroecosystems)