PEEC Directory

Faculty

Ainswort Ainsworth,  Elizabeth

ainswort@illinois.edu
147 ERML/1408 IGB
217-265-9887

Associate Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

Plant physiological and molecular responses to global change, leaf growth and development, photosynthesis and carbohydrate metabolism
Photo Allan,  Brian

ballan@illinois.edu
339A Morrill Hall
217-244-1341

Associate Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Ecology of infectious diseases
Allender Allender,  Matthew

mcallend@illinois.edu
3846 Veterinary Medicine Basic Sciences Building
217-265-0320

Clinical Assistant Professor
PEEC

Epidemiology of infectious and non-infectious diseases in free-ranging and captive wildlife with a focus on infectious disease epidemiology of reptiles as a biomonitor of overall ecosystem health
Ambrose Ambrose,  Stanley

ambrose@illinois.edu
217-244-3504

Professor
PEEC

Archeology of modern human origins in Africa; genetic paleodemography; stable isotope ecology and paleoecology; dietary reconstruction; African ecology
Carolaug Augspurger,  Carol

carolaug@illinois.edu
155 Morrill Hall
217-333-1298

Professor, SIB Associate Director of Academic Affairs
Plant Biology, PEEC

Phenology of trees and herbs, wind dispersal, seed and seedling ecology of tropical trees, plant-pathogen interactions
Photo Bell,  Alison

alisonmb@illinois.edu
439 Morrill Hall
217-265-5469

Associate Professor; Affiliate, Institute for Genomic Biology; Member, Neuroscience Program
Animal Biology, PEEC

Proximate causes and ultimate consequences of individual differences in behavior
Benson Benson,  Thomas

tjbenson@illinois.edu
2108 Illinois Natural History Survey
217-265-6242

Adjunct Assistant Professor
INHS, PEEC

Wildlife ecology and conservation, population and behavioral ecology of birds
Maybe Berenbaum,  May

maybe@illinois.edu
318B Morrill Hall / 216A Morrill Hall
217-333-2910 / 217-333-7784

Professor & Head, Swanlund Chair
Entomology, PEEC

Chemical interactions between insects and host plants and their implications in the organization of natural communities
Photo Berlocher,  Stewart

stewartb@illinois.edu
304A Morrill Hall
217-333-2929

Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Systematics, speciation, insect-plant coevolution
Jbrawn Brawn,  Jeffrey

jbrawn@illinois.edu
W-503 Turner Hall
217-244-5937

Professor and Head, NRES
Animal Biology, PEEC

Conservation biology; comparative population and community ecology of vertebrates, especially birds; tropical ecology; statistical ecology; molecular evolutionary ecology
Photo Cameron,  Sydney

sacamero@illinois.edu
215B Morrill Hall
217-333-2340

Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Application of phylogenetics, behavior and development to address questions concerning the evolution of social behavior in bees; conservation status and causal factors in declining pollinators; evolution of color pattern mimicry in bees
Cao Cao,  Yong

yongcao@illinois.edu
Illinois Natural History Survey
217-244-6847

Affiliate
INHS, NRES, PEEC

Community ecology, freshwater bioassessment, multivariate analysis, and species modeling
Catchen julian 2006 Catchen,  Julian

jcatchen@illinois.edu
233 Morrill Hall
217-244-4298

Assistant Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Evolution of the genome; identifying large structural variation in populations of threespine stickleback using a synthesis of genetic mapping, genome assembly, and mate-pair sequencing
C cheng Cheng,  C.-H. Christina

c-cheng@illinois.edu
17E Burrill Hall
217-333-2832

Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Molecular evolution of fish antifreeze protein genes, particularly evolutionary origins and molecular mechanisms of new gene genesis; temporal relationship between evolution of antifreeze function and paleobiogeography of polar regions
Chick Chick,  John

chick@illinois.edu
618-468-2850

Adjunct Associate Professor
INHS, NRES, PEEC

Ecology of large rivers, particularly Mississippi and Illinois rivers; population dynamics & community interactions freshwater fishes, life history stages & general aquatic ecology
Cienciala piotr Cienciala,  Piotr

piotrc@illinois.edu
252 Computing Applications Building
217-244-3584

Assistant Professor
PEEC, GGIS

Interactions between physical landscape and living organisms, ecosystem functioning. Land use and climate impacts on riverine ecosystems. Watershed restoration.
Clancy Clancy,  Kathryn

kclancy@illinois.edu
109 Davenport Hall
217-244-1509

Assistant Professor
PEEC, Animal Biology

Human reproductive ecologist who specializes in women's health, endometrial function and evolutionary medicine. Dr. Clancy's work challenges assumptions about what constitutes normal reproductive physiology, and clinical threshold hypotheses regarding health.
Cutts Cutts,  Bethany

bcutts@illinois.edu
S-512 Turner Hall
217-244-1921

Assistant Professor
NRES, PEEC

Photo Dalling,  James

dalling@illinois.edu
265 Morrill Hall
217-244-8914

Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

Tropical forest regeneration, seed and seedling ecology, pioneer species
Jdawson2 Dawson,  Jeffrey

jdawson2@illinois.edu
1316 PSL
217-333-9281

Professor Emeritus
Plant Biology, PEEC

Symbiotic nitrogen fixation by woody plants, forest ecophysiology, soil microbiology, plant nitrogen nutrition, silviculture, forest ecology, urban forestry
Pdegnan Degnan,  Patrick

pdegnan@illinois.edu
371 Morrill Hall
217-244-5504

Assistant Professor
Molecular and Cellular Biology, PEEC

Genome-enabled examination of diversity, genome evolution and processes in complex microbial communities
Delucia DeLucia,  Evan H.

delucia@illinois.edu

G. William Arends Professor of Integrative Biology; Professor; Director, Institute for Sustainability, Energy, and Environment
Plant Biology, PEEC

Physiological ecology of vascular plants, photosynthesis, plant architecture, stress, climate change
Dietrich Dietrich,  Christopher

chdietri@illinois.edu
282 Natural Resources Building
217-244-7408

Affiliate, Associate Center Director
Entomology, PEEC

Systematics, morphology, and evolutionary biology of leafhoppers and treehoppers; biodiversity and conservation of grassland ecosystems
Photo Downie,  Stephen

sdownie@illinois.edu
217-333-1275

Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

Molecular systematics and phylogeny of extant angiosperms, with emphasis on Apiaceae (Umbelliferae), chloroplast genome structural evolution
No photo Epifanio,  John

epifanio@illinois.edu
217-244-5059

Affiliate
INHS, NRES, PEEC

Conservation biology, molecular ecology, and fish biology
Fraterrigo Fraterrigo,  Jennifer

jmf@illinois.edu
W-423 Turner Hall
217-333-9428

Associate Professor
NRES, PEEC

Landscape ecology, effects of human and natural disturbance on ecosystem structure and function, land-water
Fuller Fuller,  Becky

rcfuller@illinois.edu
104 Shelford Vivarium
333-9065

Associate Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Speciation, animal behavior and its underlying neurological mechanisms; sexual selection and the evolution of mating systems; phenotypic plasticity
P garber Garber,  Paul

p-garber@illinois.edu
Dept. of Anthropology, Davenport Hall
217-333-3616

Professor
PEEC

Cognitive aspects of foraging, behavioral ecology, and mating systems of New World primates
No photo Hanks,  Lawrence

hanks@illinois.edu
320 Morrill Hall

Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Chemical ecology and conservation biological control
Akh Hansen,  Allison

akh@illinois.edu
355 Morrill Hall
217-244-3499

Assistant Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Genomics of insect-microbe interactions; integrated animal-microbe metabolisms; evolutionary genomics; microbiomes
Aht Harmon-Threatt,  Alex

aht@illinois.edu
255 Morrill Hall

Assistant Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Pollination Ecology, Conservation and Restoration
Kheath Heath,  Katy

kheath@illinois.edu
249 Morrill Hall
217-265-5473

Assistant Professor
School of Integrative Biology, Plant Biology, PEEC

Mutualism coevolution: evolutionary and ecological genetics of plant-microbe interactions; evolutionary responses to global change
Fhu Hu,  Feng Sheng

fhu@illinois.edu
265 Morrill Hall
217-244-2982

Professor and Associate Dean of Biological, Chemical, Physical and Mathematical Sciences in LAS, and a Ralph E. Grim Professor of Geology
Plant Biology, School of Integrative Biology, PEEC

Ecosystem ecology, quaternary paleoecology, climatic change and biotic response, soil and sediment biogeochemistry
Jain1 Jain,  Atul

jain1@illlinois.edu
215 Atmospheric Sciences
217-333-2128

Professor
PEEC

Development of mathematical models of the atmosphere, oceans, and biosphere to address environmental issues
Kpjohnso Johnson,  Kevin

kpjohnso@illinois.edu
284 Natural Resources Building, 607 E. Peabody Dr., Champaign, IL 61820
217-244-9267

Affiliate
Animal Biology, Entomology, INHS, PEEC

Molecular systematics, host-parasite co-evolution, comparative approaches to studying the evolution of behavior in birds, co-speciation between birds and parasitic lice, population genetics of island biogeography
Kent Kent,  Angela

akent@illinois.edu
S-510 Turner Hall
217-333-4216

Director of PEEC, Associate Professor
NRES, PEEC

Ecology of microbial communities involved in ecosystem processes in terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems, microbial ecology and human and animal health
Avk Kukekova,  Anna

avk@illinois.edu
206 Edward R. Madigan Lab
217-300-2425

Assistant Professor, Animal Sciences Laboratory
PEEC

We are interested in identifying novel biological mechnisms and gaining a better understanding of well-known mechanisms through which genetic and environmental factors may regulate inter-individual differences in social behavior
No photo Larson,  Eric

erlarson@illinois.edu

Assistant Professor
NRES, PEEC

NRES, PEEC
Photo Leakey,  Andrew

leakey@illinois.edu
1402 IGB
217-244-0302

Associate Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

Genomic ecology of plant ecological strategies, genomic responses to climate change, response of maize to elevated carbon dioxide and drought
Slong Long,  Stephen

slong@illinois.edu
379 ERML/134 IGB
217-244-0881

Gutgsell Endowed Professor
Crop Sciences, Plant Biology, PEEC

Environmental physiology, atmospheric change impacts on crops and natural vegetation, C4 photosynthesis, energy crops, mathematical models of photosynthesis
Malhi Malhi,  Ripan

malhi@illinois.edu
209F Davenport Hall
217-265-0721

Associate Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Integrates population genetics, phylogenetics, ancient DNA analysis, and field research in collaboration with Native American communities; use of tools from molecular biology and population genetics; North America
Photo Marcot,  Jonathan

jmarcot@illinois.edu
203 Shelford Vivarium
217-244-6826

Assistant Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Biologic diversification, particularly morphologic, molecular and taxonomic evolution of fossil and living artiodactyl mammals; Paleontology; Evolution of biologic complexity; Phylogenetic methods
Matthews Matthews,  Jeffrey

jmatthew@illinois.edu
S-516 Turner Hall
217-244-2168

Assistant Professor
NRES, PEEC

Restoration ecology, plant community ecology, wetland mitigation
Amiller7 Miller,  Andrew

amiller7@illinois.edu
2003 Robert Evers Lab

Affiliate
Plant Biology, PEEC

Character evolution of ascomycetes with emphasis on members of the Class Sordariomycetes, biodiversity and biogeography of ascomycetes
No photo Miller,  Daniel

dcmiller@illinois.edu
217-244-8293

Assistant Professor
NRES, PEEC

NRES, PEEC
Miller james Miller,  James

jrmillr@illinois.edu
N-407 Turner Hall
217-244-3896

Associate Professor
NRES, PEEC

Avian ecology, landscape ecology, biodiversity conservation, habitat restoration, reconciliation ecology
Jodwyer O'Dwyer,  James

jodwyer@illinois.edu
183 Morrill Hall
217-244-7806

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

We work with theoretical models and a broad range of data to understand patterns of biodiversity, from tropical forests to host-associated microbial systems like the human microbiome
Moruiz O'Hara Ruiz,  Marilyn

moruiz@illinois.edu
2639 Vet Med Basic Sciences Bldg.
217-265-5115

Clinical Associate Professor
PEEC

Disease ecology in a spatial context; modeling interactions of humans, animals and ecosystems
Photo Paige,  Ken

k-paige@illinois.edu
515 Morrill Hall
217-333-7802

Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Plant-animal interactions with an emphasis on understanding the phenomenon of overcompensation from ecological, physiological, genetic and evolutionary perspectives; conservation biology; evolutionary ecology
Philipp Philipp,  David

philipp@illinois.edu
237 NRSA
217-369-2952

Adjunct Professor/Affiliate
Animal Biology, PEEC

Fish genetics and evolution; identification, characterization and conservation of fish stocks; evolution of structural and regulatory genes; behavioral genetics of fishes
Caphilli Phillips,  Christopher

caphilli@illinois.edu
185 NRB
217-244-7077

Adjunct Assistant Professor/Affiliate
Animal Biology, PEEC

Population genetics, population ecology, and systematics, especially as applied to amphibians, reptiles, and fishes; phylogeny estimation using molecular markers; conservation genetics
Photo Punyasena,  Surangi

spunya1@illinois.edu
265 Morrill Hall
217-244-8049

Associate Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

Role of climate in long-term evolution of Neotropical forests; quantitative palynology
Jrhodes Rhodes,  Justin

jrhodes@illinois.edu
3315 Beckman Institute
217-265-0021

Associate Professor
PEEC

Neuroendocrinology of socially influenced sex change in anemonefish
Hughrobe Robertson,  Hugh

hughrobe@illinois.edu
320 Morrill Hall
217-333-0489

Professor
Entomology, PEEC

The molecular basis for insect olfaction and taste; insect and arthropod genomics
Generobi Robinson,  Gene

generobi@illinois.edu
1608 IGB / 449 Morrill Hall
217-265-0309

Swanlund Chair and Director, Institute for Genomic Biology;
Entomology, PEEC

insect social behavior and genomics
Roca Roca,  Alfred

roca@illinois.edu
441 Animal Sciences Laboratory
217-244-8853

Assistant Professor
PEEC

Comparative and evolutionary genomics of mammals and retroviruses, conservation genetics of elephants and other wildlife
No photo Roseman,  Charles

croseman@illinois.edu
217-244-3513

Associate Professor
PEEC

Schooley Schooley,  Robert

schooley@illinois.edu
W-401B Turner Hall
217-244-2729

Associate Professor
NRES, PEEC

Landscape ecology, metapopulations, wildlife conservation, animal movements
Photo Sears,  Karen

ksears2@illinois.edu
465B Morrill Hall

Associate Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Evolutionary developmental biology, particularly combining paleontology, developmental biology and genetics to examine the developmental mechanisms that drive morphologic diversification in mammals
Seigler Seigler,  David

daveseig@illinois.edu
265 Morrill Hall
217-333-7577

Professor Emeritus & Curator of Herbarium
Plant Biology, PEEC

Phytochemistry, chemical ecology, plant systematics, secondary products as mosquito insecticides, antioxidants from berries, systematics of Acacia species
Smith  rebecca Smith,  Rebecca

rlsdvm@illinois.edu
2627 Vet Med Basic Sciences Bldg
217-300-1428

Assistant Professor
PEEC

Infectious disease control, mathematical modeling of infectious diseases, model parameterization; Economics of livestock disease, optimization of disease control; Mycobacterial disease control
Sperry Sperry,  Jinelle

jinelle.sperry@usace.army.mil
S-506 Turner Hall
217-373-4543

Adjunct Assistant Professor/Affiliate
NRES, PEEC

Community ecology; behavior and ecology of birds, reptiles and amphibians; wildlife conservation
Rstumpf Stumpf,  Rebecca

rstumpf@illinois.edu
Department of Anthropology
217-333-8072

Associate Professor
PEEC

Sexual selection, hominid behavior, endocrinology, primate microbial ecology, primate evolution, reproductive mechanisms, preterm birth
Suarez2 Suarez,  Andrew

suarez2@illinois.edu
681 Morrill Hall
217-244-6631

I. C. Gunsalus Scholar, Professor and Head of Animal Biology
Animal Biology, Entomology, PEEC

Ant ecology and behavior; biological invasions
Suski Suski,  Cory

suski@illinois.edu
W-401C Turner Hall
217-244-2237

Associate Professor
NRES, PEEC

Conservation, physiology and ecology of freshwater fishes
Sjtaylor Taylor,  Steven

sjtaylor@illinois.edu
229 Natural Resources Studies Annex
217-244-1122

Affiliate
INHS, PEEC, Entomology

Cave and karst biology, conservation, and management
Wahl Wahl,  David

d-wahl@illinois.edu
235 NRSA
217-333-0006

Illinois Natural History Survey; Natural Resources and Environmental Sciences; Affiliate Entomology, PEEC
INHS, PEEC

Application of ecological principles to fisheries management; role of predators in controlling community dynamics; behavioral ecology of fishes; bioenergetic and bioeconomic modeling
Wander Wander,  Michelle

mwander@illinois.edu
N-225 Turner Hall
217-333-9471

Professor
NRES, PEEC

Management impacts on soil organic matter characteristics
Ward Ward,  Michael

mpward@illinois.edu
1102 S. Goodwin Ave. Urbana, IL 61801
217- 244-4089

Assistant Professor; Avian Ecologist
NRES, PEEC

Avian ecology and behavior; conservation
Warnow Warnow,  Tandy

warnow@illinois.edu
3235 Seibel Center for Computer Sciences
217-300-3087

Professor
Entomology, Animal Biology, PEEC

Phylogenomics, multiple sequence alignment, and metagenomics
Rwhitakr Whitaker,  Rachel

rwhitakr@illinois.edu
C222 Chemical and Life Sciences Laboratory
217-244-8420

Associate Professor
Molecular and Cellular Biology, PEEC

Microbial evolutionary ecology; population genomics; biogeography; horizontal gene transfer; effects of disturbance on microbial populations; Archaea
Cww Whitfield,  Charles

cww@illinois.edu
349B Morrill Hall
217-244-2889

Associate Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Molecular mechanisms and molecular evolution of social behavior, using social insects as a model; natural variation in individual behavior; high throughput genotyping and gene expression analyses
Jwhitfie Whitfield,  James

jwhitfie@illinois.edu
215 Morrill Hall
217-333-2567

Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Ecology and phylogeny of parasitoid wasps
Yangw Yang,  Wendy

yangw@illinois.edu
639 Morrill Hall
217-244-2614

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

Terrestrial biogeochemistry, ecosystem ecology, stable isotope ecology, soil-atmosphere greenhouse gas dynamics, climate change
Yannarell Yannarell,  Anthony

acyann@illinois.edu
S-522 Turner Hall
217-333-2398

Associate Professor
NRES, PEEC

Microbial community ecology, microbial interactions with invasive species, soil microbiology (grasslands, forests, agroecosystems)