Faculty by Research Area

Endangered Species

Back to Faculty by Research Area

Photo Allan,  Brian

ballan@illinois.edu
339A Morrill Hall
217-244-1341

Associate Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Ecology of infectious diseases
Photo Cameron,  Sydney

sacamero@illinois.edu
215B Morrill Hall
217-333-2340

Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Application of phylogenetics, behavior and development to address questions concerning the evolution of social behavior in bees; conservation status and causal factors in declining pollinators; evolution of color pattern mimicry in bees
Sperry Hutchins Sperry,  Jinelle

jinelle.sperry@usace.army.mil
S-506 Turner Hall
217-373-4543

Adjunct Assistant Professor/Affiliate
NRES, PEEC

Community ecology; behavior and ecology of birds, reptiles and amphibians; wildlife conservation
Ken Paige,  Ken

k-paige@illinois.edu
483 Morrill Hall
217-244-6606

Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Our lab focuses on several areas of research including 1) the ecology and evolutionary biology of species interactions with an emphasis on overcompensation (enhanced fitness following herbivory), 2) the role of somatic mutation and endoreduplication (replication of the genome without mitotic cell division) in allowing an individual plant to evolve and adjust to environmental challenges, 3) conservation genetics, focusing on the ecological and evolutionary consequences of small population size, and 4) phylogeographic analyses with a focus on understanding how organisms have responded to anthropogenic, geologic and climatic history.
Caphilli Phillips,  Christopher

caphilli@illinois.edu
185 NRB
217-244-7077

Adjunct Assistant Professor/Affiliate
Animal Biology, PEEC

Population genetics, population ecology, and systematics, especially as applied to amphibians, reptiles, and fishes; phylogeny estimation using molecular markers; conservation genetics
Roca Roca,  Alfred

roca@illinois.edu
441 Animal Sciences Laboratory
217-244-8853

Affiliate, Associate Professor
PEEC, Animal Biology

Comparative and evolutionary genomics of mammals and retroviruses, conservation genetics of elephants and other wildlife
Rstumpf Stumpf,  Rebecca

rstumpf@illinois.edu
Department of Anthropology
217-333-3616

Professor
PEEC, Animal Biology

Sexual selection, hominid behavior, endocrinology, primate microbial ecology, primate evolution, reproductive mechanisms, preterm birth
Sjtaylor Taylor,  Steven

sjtaylor@illinois.edu
229 Natural Resources Studies Annex
217-244-1122

Affiliate, Senior Conservation Biologist
INHS, PEEC, Entomology

Cave and karst biology, conservation, and management
Ward Ward,  Michael

mpward@illinois.edu
1102 S. Goodwin Ave. Urbana, IL 61801
217- 244-4089

Associate Professor; Senior Ornithologist
NRES, PEEC, INHS

Avian ecology and behavior; conservation